The National Fire Chiefs Council is a committee of The Chief Fire Officers Association (CFOA) which is a registered charity and company. CFOA is responsible for the financial administration of the charity. 

CFOA Membership

Visit the membership page to find out more about the different types of CFOA membership and the benefits. 

CFOA Board of Trustees

CFOA has a board of trustees which manage the Association, ensure appropriate governance and have oversight of the trading activities. Trustees have been selected to represent the range of governance models in place across the FRS:

  • Independent Chair: Teresa Budworth 
  • Independent Trustee: Vacant
  • Combined Fire Authorities: Mick Crennell, Avon FRS
  • County Fire Authorities: Wayne Bowcock, Royal Berkshire
  • Metropolitan Fire Authorities: John Roberts, West Yorkshire FRS
  • Scotland: Ross Haggart, Scottish FRS
  • Wales: Roger Thomas, Mid and West Wales FRS
  • Northern Ireland: To be confirmed
  • London: Andy Roe, London Fire Brigade
  • Individual member: Vacant
Useful documents: 
CFOA's Charitable Objects
  • To lead, co-ordinate and support effective prevention, protection and emergency response – locally and nationally - to reduce the loss of life, personal injury and damage to property and the environment which can arise from fire, accident, major incidents and other emergencies
  • To support fire and rescue services in transforming their role to meet changing demands and resources for the benefit of the society;
  • To promote effective service delivery by working with partner organisations, governments and private sector bodies and the community; and
  • To maximise the effectiveness of the UK fire and rescue services in saving lives and increasing public safety by representing the professional voice of the United Kingdom’s Fire and Rescue Services.

 Association Structure

The Association has existed since 1941, becoming a company limited by guarantee on 2 December 1998, and a registered charity on 19 February 1999.